VBISD Behavior Committee


VBISD Behavior Committee Logo

Our Mission

The mission of the VBISD Behavior Committee is to inform educators working with students in Van Buren County on the function-based approach to addressing student behavior and to ensure that teams engaged in the FBA/PBSP process are highly supported so that they may achieve greater student success.

Student disruption, aggression, and academic failure are a problem in schools across the county. These interfering behaviors limit a student's academic and social potential, and often pose multiple challenges for teachers, administrators, support staff, and other students (Crone & Horner, 2003). Quality behavioral intervention can help address these challenges and promote positive school culture, individual student achievement, and improved student-teacher relationships.

By utilizing the Basic FBA to BSP Training Series out of Oregon University, the VBISD Behavior Committee has developed a framework for conducting Functional Behavior Assessments (FBAs) and developing function-based Positive Behavior Support Plans (PBSPs). The VBISD Behavior Committee is committed to serving students in local school districts and VBISD programs through professional learning, technical assistance and support, and on-going resource development.

VBISD Behavior Committee Members

Stephanie Bahr

School Psychologist

sbahr@vbisd.org

Beth Baker

LEA Consultant

bbaker@vbisd.org

Meghan Buffenbarger

School Psychologist

mbuffenbarger@vbisd.org

Brittany Busch

Teacher Consultant

bbusch@vbisd.org

Whitney Grant

School Social Worker

wgrant@vbisd.org

Katy Holverstott

Director - Special Education

kholverstott@vbisd.org

Cathy Jarvie

School Psychologist

cjarvie@shps.org

Jennifer Korinek

Behavior Consultant

jkorinek@vbisd.org

Rebecca Longcore

Special Education Supervisor

rlongcore@vbisd.org

Cheryl-Marie Manson

Director - Instructional Services

cmanson@vbisd.org

Heidi Olivares

Behavior & Trauma Coordinator

holivares@vbisd.org

Susan Reynolds

Principal - Learning Center

sreynolds@vbisd.org

Alyss Salas

School Social Worker

asalas@vbisd.org

Katelyn Segur

School Social Worker

kbeimer@vbisd.org

Graig Stacy

Behavior Interventionist

gstacy@vbisd.org

Tara Wadsworth-Lampe

Behavior Interventionist

twadsworth-lampe@vbisd.org